Two Steps, One Sticker
Beginning March 1, 2016, Texas registered vehicles will need to pass inspection no earlier than 90 days before the registration expiration in order to successfully renew their vehicle registration whether in person, online, or via mail. Texas registered vehicles will no longer be issued an inspection sticker at the time of inspection. The registration sticker will serve as combined proof of inspection and registration. Once your vehicle is inspected, you will receive a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) instead of a vehicle inspection sticker. The inspection station will still collect a fee for inspecting the vehicle and the state’s portion of the inspection will be collected at the time the vehicle registration is renewed at the Tax Office.
A calendar is available that will help precisely indicate the earliest date that motorists may get their vehicle inspected to comply with the new law. This is a helpful resource for citizens to determine the 90 day window for their inspection. The Two Steps, One Sticker calendar can be found by clicking the icon below:
Additional information regarding the "Two Step, One Sticker" program can be found at: www.twostepsonesticker.com.