Press Release

Dallas County Clerk

Marriage License

Records Building - 509 Main Street, 2nd Floor, Suite 200, Dallas, Texas 75202
Phone: (214) 653-7099 • Fax: (214) 653-7176
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday (except for Court Approved Holidays)


NOTICE: Effective September 1, 2013, New Laws Effecting Marriage Licenses:

Senate Bill 1317, Section 2.201
Expiration of License If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license is issued, the marriage license expires.
Senate Bill 1317, Section 2.202

Who can perform

a marriage ceremony

Family Code is amended as follows: (a) the following persons are authorized to conduct a marriage ceremony: a retired judge of a municipal court and a retired judge or magistrate of a federal court of this state.
House Bill 869, Section 2.006 & 2.007

Absent Applicant

Affidavit

All applicants must be present for the ceremony unless: (a) the absent applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and unable to attend the ceremony. All other applicants will have to be present for the ceremony.
     

Please do not send cash through the mail. Money Order Only.

 

Premarital Education Handbook

"When You Get Married" is provided by the Office of Attorney General under the Texas Family Code Section 2.014, in hopes of creating a relationship that is satisfying and acceptable for you and your partner.

What are the requirements for getting a formal marriage license?

  • Both parties must appear before the county clerk;
  • Submit proof of identity and age;
  • Provide information applicable to each person for which space is provided
  • Mark the appropriate boxes provided in the application and;
  • Take the oath printed on the application and sign before the county clerk.

What can I use as proof of identity?

  • Driver's license or identification card issued by this state or another state;
  • United States passport;
  • A current passport issued by a foreign country;
  • An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a Bureau of Vital Statistic for a state or a foreign government. Must present a valid form of government issued ID; or
  • Military ID card
  • Forms of identification cannot be mutilated(Ex. torn, taped together, or laminated).

What is the cost of a marriage license?

          The cost of a marriage license is $81.00 cash.

 

Effective September 1, 2008 couples who go through the State of Texas approved marriage education class (Twogether in Texas) will not have to pay the $60.00 State portion of the marriage license fee.  They will still pay the smaller County portion, which varies by County. The certificate must be presented to the clerk at the time of purchasing the marriage license.

For more information please click on the following link to search for marriage Education services in your area www.bethechampion.org Spanish web site: www.seelcampeon.org.

.

What is the expiration of a marriage license?

           

If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license is issued, the marriage license expires.

Who can conduct a marriage ceremony?

  • A licensed or ordained Christian Minister or Priest;
  • A Jewish Rabbi;
  • A person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony; and
  • A Justice of the Supreme Court, Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals, Justice of the Courts of Appeals, Judge of the District, County, and Probate Courts, Judge of the County Courts at Law, Judge of the Courts of Domestic Relations, Judge of the Juvenile Courts, retired Justice or Judge or Magistrate of a Federal Court of the State.

What should be done once the marriage license has been purchased?

After you have purchased your marriage license you must select an authorized officiate to perform the ceremony, and wait the appropriate 72-hours before the ceremony take place to get married; unless both parties have completed and obtained a Twogether in Texas premarital education class, or is a member of the armed forces of the United States and are on active duty.

 

Who should record the marriage license after the ceremony takes place?

The person who conducts a marriage ceremony shall record on the license the date and the County in which the ceremony is performed and the person's name, subscribe in the license, and return the license to the County Clerk who issued the license not later than the 30th day after the date the ceremony is conducted.
 

What are the requirements for an informal marriage license?

  • Both parties must appear before the county clerk;
  • Submit proof of identity and age;
  • Provide information applicable to that person for which space is provided
  • Mark the appropriate boxes provided in the application and;
  • Take the oath printed on the application and sign before the county clerk.
Click to fill out the on-line form Link
ON-LINE APPLICATION FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE LICENSE

 

Can I use my Texas marriage license to get married in another state?

        

A marriage license issued in the State of Texas can be used for ceremonies in other States. Please contact your out-of-state officiate before applying for a State of Texas marriage license. Please keep in mind your license will only be recorded in the County and State in which you applied.

What are the requirements for an Absent Applicant Affidavit?

Absent Applicant Affidavit Application

   Both bride and groom must be in full compliance with the following information or the application will be denied.

  • As of September 1, 2013,all applicants using an absent applicant affidavit must be present for the ceremony unless; the absent applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and unable to attend the ceremony.
  • Information for an absent applicant affidavit can only be completed by the absent applicant.
  • ALL Affidavit's must be Notarized.
  • This application is not available for an informal marriage license (Common Law).
  • The affidavit will be denied if any of the questions are not answered or if affidavit is not notarized.
  • Documents with white out or mark outs will not be accepted.
  • Please print or type all requested information in blue or black ink.
  • The absentee applicant must return the original completed affidavit directly to the person they wish to marry. 
  • The individual appointed as proxy must be present when purchasing the marriage license.

What type of identification is required for an informal marriage license?

An acceptable form of identification for all parties that states the correct name and date of birth, this may include any of the following:

  • Valid driver's license,
  • Valid passport,
  • State issued ID card,
  • Military ID card or,
  • Certified copy of birth certificate and valid photo ID

NOTE: The ID for the absent applicant must be a legible photocopy. The ID for the parties appearing before the clerk must be original.

An absent applicant affidavit expires 30 days from the date of signature. If any changes or corrections are made after the absent applicant has signed the application a new application is required.

 

You can apply for a marriage license at the following locations:

Dallas County Records Building
509 Main Street, Suite 200

Dallas, Texas 75202
214-653-7099

(8:00am-4:00pm, Monday through Friday)

East Dallas Government Center
3443 St. Francis Ave

Dallas, Texas 75228
214-321-3182 or 214-819-7509

(Call for office hours)

North Dallas Government Center
10056 Marsh Lane, Suite 137

Dallas, Texas 75229
214-904-3030 (Call for office hours)

South Dallas Office Government Center
7201 S. Polk

Dallas, Texas 75232
972-228-0280 (Call for office hours)

Richardson Office
1411 W. Belt Line Road

Richardson, Texas 75080

214-904-3042

Monday - Friday 8:00am - 11:00am and 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Irving Office
841 W. Irving Blvd.

Irving, Texas75060
214-589-7000 (Call for office hours)

Beckley Courthouse

410 S. Beckley Ave

Dallas, Texas 75203

214-943-5981 (Call for office hours)

Lancaster Office

107 Texas Street

Lancaster, Texas 75146

972-228-2272

Grand Prairie Office

106 West Church Street, Suite 205 St

Grand Prairie, Texas 75050

214-751-4040

 

 

How can I obtaining a certified copy of my marriage license?

The cost per copy is $10.00. You can come into the office or send in a request by mail. If requesting by mail, please use a MONEY ORDER and allow 10 to 15 business days to receive your copy.

A NON-REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE OF $10 WILL APPLY FOR ALL SEARCHES AND OR COPIES.

Click the link to download form
APPLICATION FOR COPY OF MARRIAGE RECORD

Please do not send cash through the mail. Money Order Only.

Location / Mailing Address:

John F. Warren, County Clerk
(make money order payable to Dallas County Clerk)
Attn: Vital Statistics
Records Building, 2nd Floor
509 Main Street
Dallas, TX 75202